Reformation: Online Resources

Database of online bibliographies related to Medieval history. From Centre d’Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale of Poitiers, the user-friendly database collects and publishes resources from several countries.

Database provides bibliographic information for articles, essays, and lectures produced from the 16th century to the present which deal with John Calvin and 16th century Calvinism. The bibliography and database are maintained by the curator of the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies.

This database compiles numerous essential texts related to Christianity in a searchable and downloadable forms. Texts are from the public domain, and extend beyond the Reformation.

Webpage for the Centre, offering information on scholars, academic programs, research projects and databases, and additional webpages related to the study of the Renaissance and Reformation. Helpful for advanced research on the Reformation.

Project Wittenberg is home to works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans. Project Wittenberg documents are posted in their original languages, in English translation and other languages.

A not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources. Partners include: Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies (Arizona State University), Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies (Victoria University in the University of Toronto), Faculty of Information (University of Toronto), Renaissance Society of America, Sixteenth Century Society and Conference, and University of Toronto Libraries.

A searchable site of the Waterworth edition of the canons and decrees of the Council of Trent, courtesy of the Hanover Historical Texts Project of Hanover College. The Council of Trent was an ecumenical council, convened by Pope Paul III. Over the course of nearly two decades, the Council deliberated Protestantism and issued decrees on the heresies of the Reformation and affirmed core teachings and doctrines of the Roman Catholic Church.

The H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies is a research center specializing in John Calvin, Calvinism, the Reformation, and Early Modern Studies. Since opening in 1982, the extensive book, rare book, article, and microform collections has attracted scholars from all over the world.

The official site for the RSI offers links for current researchers in the field, recent publications, completed dissertations, upcoming projects and seminars, and numerous links to other databases, archives, digital resources, research centers, and initiatives related to the Reformation and its academic study.

Luthers Werke on the World Wide Web reproduces the Weimar Edition in electronic form. The Weimar Edition, which is regarded as a monumental work in the field of theology and the German language, was first published in 1883 and includes 127 volumes. TheWeimar EditionofLuthers Werkeis published by ProQuest with the co-operation and support of the publishers Hermann Bohlaus Nachfolger Weimar GmbH & Co.

From scholar Mark Gstohl, Reformation Happens provides extensive information and links to subjects like the Catholic Reformation, Magisterial Reformation, English Reformation, and Women of the Reformation. Subjects include numerous subcategories, making this resource essential for online research on the Reformation.

Designed to present its readers with the full body of Catholic teaching, the Encyclopedia contains not only precise statements of what the Church has defined, but also an impartial record of different views of acknowledged authority on all disputed questions. In all things the object of the Encyclopedia is to give the whole truth without prejudice, national, political or factional. In the determination of the truth the most recent and acknowledged scientific methods are employed, and the results of the latest research in theology, philosophy, history, apologetics, archæology, and other sciences are given careful consideration.

The "Reformation" entry in Encyclopedia Britannica offers a succinct essay on the Reformation, with additional entries hyperlinked to the main text. Hyperlinks include, church, Martin Luther, John Calvin, indulgences, grace, and excommunication.

PRDL is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. A project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.

Searchable database of John Calvin's writings and sermons. Included is the McNeill and Battles editions of the Institutes, 3 volumes of tracts and treatises, and 4 volumes of letters.

A database of over 50,000 eBooks, Project Gutenberg delivers public domain works to the web. Digitized works are carefully proofread, ensuring accurate transmission of material into digital forms. Database is searchable and includes several options for files.

Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.